Plum Attraction, Rainbow Connection

I was hanging out for my first major chips on my Artful Dodger mani so I could try something else. In light of this I’ve decided to keep it for toes only (where I like it on me, go figure) until I find something from my latest polish orders (arriving soon, hopefully) to layer it with.

Today I felt like some purple with something a bit extra thrown in, so I layered Revlon’s Plum Attraction with a gradated coating of OPI’s Rainbow Connection, from their recent Muppets series. I’ve got to say, I really like Revlon’s shimmer polishes. Not keen on their frosts, but I’m not the target market. I like their shimmer colours, I like that they don’t go the way of cringe-inducing or offensive names (cough OPI), and I like that usually said polish names have an actual link to the colour in the bottle. Plum Attraction – you know what you’re getting, basically. It is indeed the colour of a perfectly ripe satsuma plum, with pink and some red shimmer thrown in. I also generally like their formulas, though I could have stood to add a third thin layer rather than only two.

[Sunlight, shows gloss]

Rainbow Connection quickly became one of my favourites. It’s been accurately described as clown vomit. There’s the nostalgia factor of the name, the name isn’t a failed pun, and most importantly it’s a really lovely mix of rainbow hex glitter of varying sizes in a clear jelly base. The first time I wore it I needed a little practice to get the application right – to get a decent spread of the various glitters you really need to dab it on and move the pieces around with the brush a bit. I also add more top coat because while it’s definitely not as rough as you’d expect, I like as smooth a finish on glitters as possible. It really looks good over almost everything.

I don’t expect to get a very long time out of this mani with tip wear on the glitter, but as I’ve previously mentioned I am hard on my nails. As a note, Rainbow connection is an exact dupe with Nicole by OPI Rainbow in the S-Kylie from the Kardashian range, and Milani’s Gems. It’s an almost-exact dupe with Deborah Lippmann’s Happy Birthday. And OPI is ridiculously overpriced in NZ so buy online, it’s cheaper even with shipping and the exchange rate (ditto most polishes).

Base coat of Orly Top 2 Bottom; 2 thin coats Plum Attraction; approx 3 dabbing coats Rainbow connection on the tips, with more toward the tip of the nail; 2 top coats Orly Top 2 Bottom.

[Flash, shows shimmer]

[Thumb nail close up, shows glitter gradation]

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Plum Attraction, Rainbow Connection

  1. […] I must admit to having shamelessly stolen this idea from Astra, but rather upped the ante on vivid cheerful shout-it-out-loud brightness.  Dark-plum-and-glitter […]

Tell me what you think

